top of page
  • Navneet Singh

Dear Cysters....

I have never written about having PCOS, but I feel that it’s important to understand and normalize women’s health as much as possible. Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome is a hormonal disorder common amongst women. I have had it ever since I was a teenager, and now at 26, I am starting to accept and love my body for how it is. People do not often see the symptoms, but we definitely feel it. The fatigue, mood swings, the frequent blood tests, and doctor visits, etc. I have known a handful of women that have the same condition, and it has been wonderful to talk with each other and make a bond from this hormonal disorder. We share ways of coping, and one thing that I have learned to prioritize from PCOS is self-care. I did not realize how unhealthy my work/school balance was until my final semester of my undergrad. For the last 4 years, I have been relentlessly tiring myself out and putting so much stress upon myself that I felt my body screaming for help. I want to stress how important it is to take mental breaks, and this looks different for everyone. I play video games for one hour every night after dinner, and its back to the books before bed; I also enjoy doing yoga in the middle of the afternoon when my stress levels are high—this helps me calm down throughout the day. I want to encourage not only my cysters, but everyone to set aside time for yourself because your body may also need that attention, even when you are not realizing it.

As for my fellow women struggling with PCOS, take time to listen to your body and know that I am here fighting with you every step of the way.



32 views0 comments
bottom of page