top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Pabon

Educational Opportunity Program

The Educational Opportunity Program (EOP) at Cal Poly Pomona has truly become another family for me. I applied as a Learning Strategist back in 2019. I was the youngest of the new hires and felt very insecure in my ability to tutor students effectively. However, EOP welcomed me with open arms and over time I gained countless skills that could be used to empower students in their studies.

EOP works to empower first-generation, low-income college students. As a first-generation student myself I felt akin to the students I partnered with. The main difference between the EOP Learning Center and other learning centers on campus is we lead our lesson fully understanding and aware of the population we assist. We receive training on science-backed academic skills, social programs Cal Poly offers, and information on the EOP identity.

One of the main goals of this position is to build community. I have been able to build rewarding connections with students and coworkers, many of whom have become some of my closest friends at Cal Poly. Additionally, my supervisors have always provided me the option to focus on school first, position second. They have done this while also supporting me in new ventures like graduate school and other professional positions.

I came into Cal Poly feeling very confused and unaware of what could possibly be. However, now as I finish up my undergrad I am leaving here with confidence,

community, and a deepened passion for my work. I am excited to move on into new ventures with the knowledge I have gained from my position and I feel well equipped to do so. And for that, I am forever grateful for this opportunity.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page