top of page
  • Writer's pictureGiselle Gradilla

Mythology Recommendations!




Book 7 of Ovid’s Metamorphoses


  • This semester, I had the pleasure of taking a class on Mythology at Cal Poly Pomona with the one and only, Dr. Baker. One of my favorite stories from Ovid’s metamorphoses was Book 7, which focuses around the sorceress Medea. Medea’s story is without a doubt one of my favorite stories to read about. Some see her as anti-hero while others see her as a villain. Not many people focus on how clever she is when it comes to tricking others. An example would be how she gets Pelia’s daughters to basically kill their own father, thinking Medea would help them. This story is only one of the many in Ovid’s metamorphoses that I would recommend to read. It was a story I was familiar with before taking the class and one that I would absolutely read and share with other’s interested in Roman mythology.




Book 8 of Ovid’s Metamorphoses


  • Adding on to my list of recommendation of stories from Ovid’s Metamorphoses, we have Book 8 which focuses on Scylla. The daughter of Nisus who was the ruler of Alcathous. Minos attacks their city and has Scylla fall in love with him. She falls so deeply in love with Minos that she betrays her own father and scalps him of his hair which holds the power to rule. This actually horrifies Minos and it causes him to get on his ship and leave. This story is very entertaining to read but alas I will not be spoiling the ending.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page